top of page
Writer's pictureCallum McCartney

JACK BURROUGHS - MOVING UP THE RANKS

Jack Burroughs made his full debut against Watford on the 5th of November. He spoke about that experience, and his goals for the rest of the season.

Jack has made previous appearances for Coventry City in the past but on November 5th he got given his first full debut for the club against last year's Premier League side Watford FC.


I asked how he felt about finally getting his full debut and how he got told he would be starting, the Coventry born player said: "I'd waited a long time for my first start for the club, obviously I've made appearances but never taken that next step up".


He added: " I found out on the Friday before the game that I was playing and I was instantly shocked, I was definitely not expecting it, but after the initial shock I felt a mixture of nerves and excitement, but mostly excitement".


Burroughs then went on to say that it was big news for himself and his family and that they were: "over the moon!".


Jack spent last season on loan at Scottish Premiership side Ross County. Where he managed to get a good amount of first team football under his belt, making 17 appearances for the 'The Staggies'.

He spoke about how since returning from his loan at the end of last season he's had to be patient since being back at the Sky Blues. "Since returning from Ross County I've definitely had to be patient as the opportunities don't come easily at this level".


When asked about his goals for the rest of the season he made it obvious that it was to try and break into the squad and get as many appearances as possible. The Scottish youth international stated: "My goal coming back was to get as many appearances as possible and hopefully making myself a regular in the team".


He added: " For me it's about working hard, and when the opportunities do arise, like they did against Watford, it's about making the most of them and proving to the manager that you can be trusted and that you can have a positive impact on the team".


Jack got a lot of praise for his performance against Watford which saw the Midlands club win 1-0 which saw his side keep a clean sheet, something he can take partial credit for. However myself and other fans were surprised not to see the 21-year-old start the next game against Wigan Athletic. I asked whether he was surprised not to of got given a back-to-back start.


He said: I was definitely going into the Wigan game optimistic about starting, but never felt like it was my right to start".


He continued by saying: "I was slightly disappointed not to play but it shows how much there is competition for places".

Coventry's number 32 has played many positions in his career with most of them being in Defence and Midfield. When asked what his preferred position was, he stated: "I grew up playing all over the pitch and to be fair I do still now, I think in recent years I've adopted the wing back role quite well and, I think at this current moment in time it suits the way I play".


He added that he didn't mind which wing he's played on as he can: "play off both feet".


Jack spoke about how the recent run of games have improved the performances of the Sky Blues saying: "Recently the consistency of fixtures has allowed us to improve our performances, and this means results have also improved".


Finally, when I asked Jack about the World Cup break and the itinerary for the squad he said: "We will have a couple of weeks off followed by two weeks training before the fixtures restart".


He added that this break is much needed and will help the team recover: "It's important for us all to have a bit of a break due to how taxing the fixtures have been on our minds and our bodies".


I asked Burroughs who's quite the golf enthusiast whether he'd spending his time of improving his handicap, he replied by saying: " Haha, I will most definitely be working on my handicap with my time off".


He added that he wasn't sure where he'd be playing but he was sure he would be "shanking a lot of balls over the next two weeks".







61 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentários


bottom of page